Back from back east

Standard

Folks here in Utah refer to most of the country as “back east.” Doesn’t matter if the location is actually in the east. Kansas? Yep, back east. Oklahoma? Yep. Michigan and Wisconsin? Yep and yep. We just returned from a trip back east. But we truly were in the east – about as east as you can go without falling into the Atlantic. Washington D.C. was a short Metro ride away, but we didn’t do any traditional sightseeing. The sight we wanted to see was our granddaughter.

We ate like royalty. My son made us crisp-tender popovers and homemade pasta and my daughter-in-law made us a shrimp Pad See Ew. I have never made any of those dishes, so they were a gustatory delight and a cooking lesson. (That’s me in the picture trying my hand at folding the pasta dough to feed into the machine.) We walked off the calories on daily trips to the neighborhood playground.

Leave a comment