Salmon loaf

Standard

My foray into my mom’s 1960s recipes left behind a distinctive…cachet. If you’ve ever used canned salmon, you know what I mean. Despite the lingering scent, I give the throwback dinner a solid B-plus.

As I said in an earlier post, I found a recipe for salmon loaf while clearing out my mother’s pantry. In an effort to try new (or in this case, old) things, I made it for dinner last night. I’ve never used oatmeal as a filler – I’m a bread crumb gal. But I was pleasantly surprised by the taste and texture here.

The taste is similar to the salmon patties I make on occasion, but quicker and healthier because there is no frying. Hubby LOVED it. If I make it again, I will cut the salt in half and keep my addition of garlic and dill.

This is a dish, like revenge, that is best served cold. Once chilled, it slices like a dream and is wonderful on a toasted onion bagel with a smear of cream cheese.

If you had trouble reading the recipe card in the previous post photo (charmingly transcribed by my dad on an actual typewriter), I have written the (slightly updated) recipe below.

SALMON LOAF

  • Two 14-ounce cans salmon, drained and flaked
  • 1 1/3 cup rolled oats, uncooked
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper or Old Bay seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 350. In large bowl, combine all ingredients thoroughly. Pack into greased 9-inch loaf pan. Bake for 60-70 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes before slicing. For best results, let cool before unmolding from pan. Served with a sauce of 1 part horseradish cream to 2 parts ketchup.

Leave a comment